Primoz Roglic Confirms Jumbo-Visma Departure

Primoz Roglic Confirms Jumbo-Visma Departure

Primoz Roglic confirms Jumbo-Visma departure amid merger talks. He leaves team two years early, Ineos and Bora possible new teams.

Sep 30, 2023 by AFP Report
Roglic Rides At Ineos, Amazon Sponsors Jumbo?

Reigning Giro d'Italia champion Primoz Roglic confirmed on Saturday he will exit Dutch team Jumbo-Visma at the end of the season amid talks of a merger with Belgian outfit Soudal-Quick Step.

"I can confirm that I'm leaving the team," Roglic told journalists before the Giro dell'Emilia cycling race in Italy. He will also compete in next Saturday's Tour of Lombardy, the final 'Monument' classic of the season.

"I'll say after the races (in Italy) where I'll go," the 33-year-old Slovenian added.

Primoz Roglic Rides For Ineos, Amazon Sponsors Jumbo-Visma?

Roglic has been linked to Ineos Grenadiers, Bora-Hansgrohe, and Movistar for 2024.

Primoz Roglic Leaves Jumbo-Visma After Olympics And Giro d'Italia Victories

Former ski jumper Roglic, the Tokyo Olympics time-trial gold medallist, is under contract with Jumbo-Visma until 2024, having joined in 2016 when the team was called LottoNL-Jumbo.

"After a memorable ride together, Team Jumbo-Visma grant Primoz Roglic the opportunity to pursue his ambitions elsewhere in the future. First, all focus will be on the upcoming Italian races," the team said in a post on social media.

In the yellow and black jersey, Roglic won the Liege-Bastogne-Liege in 2020, three Vuelta a España titles in 2019, 2020 and 2021, and the Giro d'Italia this year.

He was also runner-up in the 2020 Tour de France having worn the leader's yellow jersey for eleven days.

Jumbo-Visma could merge with Soudal-Quick Step, with the manager of the Belgian team Patrick Lefevere confirming on Saturday discussions are underway.

Jumbo-Visma Made History With Primoz Roglic Winning All Three Grand Tours

Jumbo-Visma became the first team in history to win three major Tours - France, Italy, Spain - this year.

The two teams include star riders such as Dane Jonas Vingegaard, a two-time Tour de France winner, Belgians Remco Evenepoel and Wout Van Aert, Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe and American Sepp Kuss.

Kuss won this year's Vuelta ahead of Jumbo teammates Vingegaard and Roglic.